LEGEND
PPF Prime Gloss
Gloss
Automotive painted bodywork · clear gloss
For painted automotive bodywork. Confirm the supplied film, substrate eligibility and applicable local instructions with the installer.
Clear, glossy film for automotive paint. LEGEND describes a water-repelling outer coating that lets minor surface marks recover over time.
Full product name: PPF Prime™ Gloss.
Features described by the manufacturer
More about this film
A clear gloss aliphatic TPU film for automotive paint. LEGEND describes a hydrophobic surface that recovers from minor marks over time.
- Manufacturer describes a self-leveling hydrophobic topcoat and recovery of minor scratches and mars over time.
Film details
- Finish
- Gloss
- Thickness as documented
- Page: 7.8 mil; TDS: approximately 8 mil (~200 µm)
The product page gives 7.8 mil; the technical sheet rounds to approximately 8 mil. Removable layers are listed separately.
- What’s included
- TDS: 0.5 mil (12 µm) topcoat + 6 mil (152 µm) aliphatic TPU + 1.3 mil (33 µm) acrylic pressure-sensitive adhesive. These sum to 7.8 mil or 197 µm using the printed rounded values (arithmetic interpretation). Separate removable cap is 2 mil (50 µm); liner 3 mil (76 µm). Page gives 7.8 mil (198.12 µm); TDS approximate 8 mil (~200 µm). Preserve source precision; this alone is not a material contradiction.
Technical sources
Layer-by-layer thickness
The face film is one part of the installed film. Compare totals that include the same layers.
Mils, microns and the layers that countLimited warranty
12-year limited warranty advertised; full local terms unverified
Do not infer warranty coverage from resistance claims or treat twelve years as an unconditional contract. Obtain issuing entity, installation eligibility, coverage, exclusions, registration, remedy and transfer terms.
- Coverage
- Product-page and TDS marketing only; no complete applicable policy reviewed.
- Covered problems
- Complete covered-defect list is unverified; resistance claims are not warranty coverage.
- Conditions
- TDS directs readers to an authorized distributor/dealer for manufacturer limited-warranty details.
- Important exclusions
- Complete applicable exclusions are unverified; obtain the governing local warranty.
Ownership, start date & paperwork
- If a claim qualifies
- Removal, replacement and labor terms are unconfirmed.
- When it starts
- Start date unconfirmed; ask for the warranty supplied with your installation.
- If you sell the car
- Transfer terms unconfirmed in the sources reviewed.
- Paperwork
- Registration requirements and deadlines are unconfirmed.
This is a summary of selected terms. The warranty supplied for your film and location governs any claim.
Durability and warranty: what’s the difference?Caring for this film
- Product care section: wait at least three days before washing, and longer in winter; hand washing with soap and water is acceptable.
- The care instructions discourage pressure washers; if used, keep the nozzle at least 45 cm (1.5 ft) from film.
- For glossy Prime, nonabrasive wax is recommended at least twice yearly. Remove bird droppings, bugs and other contamination regularly.
The product page’s maintenance-free wording does not remove the need for care. A general April 27, 2026 blog instead says at least 48 hours before washing (up to five days in cooler climates) and a spray distance of at least 12 inches. It is not established as replacing the guide that names Prime. Ask for current model-specific instructions; abrasive stain treatment is not routine care.
Care instructions and sources
Details to confirm before booking
- Complete governing local warranty and legal issuer.
- Applicable care-instruction version, especially different general-blog wash and nozzle-distance advice.
- Local availability and exact supplied cap/no-cap option.
More about these specifications
- Manufacturer documentation and claims only; no independent comparative testing or performance ranking.
- Document access does not establish local stock, installation availability or governing warranty.
Manufacturer documents
Sources checked October 17, 2026. Corporate English product page and linked English TDS with UK filename; no worldwide availability or warranty established.
Document dates & details
- LEGEND Prime Gloss product
Manufacturer product page · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-10-17
Corporate English; territory unspecified
- LEGEND Prime No Cap / Cap TDS, copyright 2025
Manufacturer technical data sheet · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-10-17
Corporate-linked English; filename UK; lists .com/.eu/.co.uk
Copyright 2025; URL directory 2025/04 is not a confirmed issue date.
- LEGEND installation and care instructions
Manufacturer care instructions · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-10-17
Corporate English; territory unspecified
No document issue or revision date established. Access date is not a document date.
- The Ultimate Post-Installation PPF Care and Maintenance Guide
General manufacturer blog · Document 2026-04-27 · Checked 2026-10-17
General corporate blog; not model-specific
Visible article heading/date verified; web extraction page title is mismatched.